logo menu

Upcoming Events

Latest News

All Magnets of CSNS Rapid Cycling Synchrotron Installed

Date: 2015-12-31 Author:

Dec. 31, 2015. The last set of magnet (RCS-253Q quadrupole magnet) at the Rapid Cycling Synchrotron (RCS) of China Spallation Neutron Source (CSNS) was installed in RCS tunnel on Dec. 31, 2015, marking the completion of the CSNS/RCS magnet installation.

RCS magnets are the main parts of the CSNS/RCS accelerator. There are a total of 145 sets of various types of magnets, including 24 dipole magnets, 48 quadrupole magnets, 16 sextupole magnets, 34 correcting magnets and 23 injection & extraction magnets.

On April 30, 2015, the first set of the quadrupole magnet was installed in the RCS tunnel and then technicians started to set the installation alignment lines and install the magnet girders. Till mid-July, the installation of all magnet girders was completed. Subsequently, the installation of the RCS magnets was in full swing.

CSNS mainly consists of an H- linac and a proton rapid cycling synchrotron. It is designed to accelerate proton beam pulses to hit a solid metal target to produce spallation neutrons.