Home   |   Contact   |   Sitemap   |   中文   |   CAS
Home|About Us|People|Press|Facilities|Int’l Cooperation|Papers|Research|Education & Training
Research Divisions
Research Programs
Research Progress
Key laboratories

  Location: Home > Research > Key laboratories
            Key Laboratory of Particle Astrophysics TEXT SIZE: A A A

With a history of more than 60 years, the Key Laboratory of Particle Astrophysics, the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), was set up to study cosmic rays in 1951, two years after the foundation of the People’s Republic of China.

In 1997, it was upgraded to be the Open Laboratory of Cosmic Rays and became a major research center in IHEP.

In 2002, it was renamed as the Key Laboratory of Particle Astrophysics. In its history of more than 60 years, many famous physicists, such as Prof. Gan-Chang Wang, Prof. Wen-Yu Zhang, and Prof. Jian Xiao, had served as the director of the laboratory.

Currently about 180 staff scientists and engineers, more than 100 graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and visiting scholars are working with the laboratory. The research fields of the key laboratory focus mainly on cosmic ray physics, astrophysics, neutrino physics and dark matter physics.

As one of the advanced research centers in China, the key laboratory has taken up leading positions in instrumentation, observations, data analysis methodology and interpretation as well as theoretical physics and astrophysics. The ongoing experiments of the key laboratory cover a wide range of projects, which include high altitude mountain, earth orbit and deep space.

Major ongoing experiments and research topics:

  • YangBaJing Cosmic Ray and Gamma-Ray Experiments: ARGO (China-Italy collaboration) and AS-Gamma (China-Japan collaboration)
  • R&D for the Large High Altitude Air Shower Observatory (LHAASO) Project
  • Hard X-ray Modulation Telescope (HXMT) satellite mission
  • Space Variable Object Monitor (SVOM) satellite mission (China-France collaboration)
  • The POLAR experiment onboard China’s Spacelab (China-Europe collaboration)
  • DArk Matter Particle Explorer (DAMPE)
  • X-ray Timing and Polarization satellite (XTP)
  • High Energy cosmic Radiation Detection facility (HERD)
  • AMS International Space Station experiment
  • CMS particle physics experiment at CERN
  • Daya Bay neutrino experiment (China-US collaboration)
  • High Energy Astrophysics: neutron stars and black holes, gamma-ray bursts, supernovae and supernova remnants, active galactic nuclei, galaxy evolution, cluster of galaxies, cosmology, etc.
  • Cosmic ray physics: cosmic ray acceleration and propagation, dark matter, cosmology, hadron physics, etc.

Directors of the Key Laboratory of Particle Astrophysics:

Director: Prof. Shuang-Nan Zhang

Deputy Director:  Prof. Li-Ming Song

         Prof. Zhen Cao

Contact Us:

Academic Secretary: Dr. Min Zhang, 88236208, minzhang@ihep.ac.cn

Administrative Secretary: Ms. Yue Sun, 88236208, sunyue@ihep.ac.cn


Copyright ©2002-2014 Institute of High Energy Physics, CAS
Questions and Comments to webmaster@ihep.ac.cn
mailing address:19B YuquanLu, Shijingshan District
Beijing, 100049 FAX: 86-10-88233374 TEL: 86-10-88233093