Home   |   Contact   |   Sitemap   |   中文   |   CAS
Home|About Us|People|Press|Facilities|Int’l Cooperation|Papers|Research|Education & Training
Upcoming Events
Reports from Overseas

  Location: Home > Press > News
   WANG Yifang awarded Panofsky Prize in Experimental Particle Physics TEXT SIZE: A A A

The American Physical Society (APS) has awarded the 2014 W. K. H. Panofsky Prize in Experimental Particle Physics to WANG Yifang, Director of the Institute of High Energy Physics and Kam-Biu Luk, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. WANG is the first Chinese scientist to win this award.

The award recognizes WANG Yifang and Kam-Biu Luk "for their leadership of the Daya Bay experiment, which produced the first definitive measurement of θ13 angle of the neutrino mixing matrix. "

WANG proposed the Daya Bay neutrino oscillation experiment in China with a detailed detector design and experimental plan, to precisely measure the neutrino mixing angle theta13. He assembled a large international collaboration, and is elected as the co-spokesperson of the experiment.

The Panofsky Prize will be presented to WANG Yifang and Kam-Biu Luk at an awards ceremony at the APS meeting in Savannah in April 2014. WANG will also give an invited talk at the meeting. The prize was established in 1985 by friends of W. K. H. Panofsky, director emeritus of the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, and the APS Division of Particles and Fields, Stanford University, and SLAC. Awarded annually to recognize and encourage outstanding achievements in experimental particle physics, the prize consists of $10,000, a travel allowance, and a certificate.

Copyright ©2002-2014 Institute of High Energy Physics, CAS
Questions and Comments to webmaster@ihep.ac.cn
mailing address:19B YuquanLu, Shijingshan District
Beijing, 100049 FAX: 86-10-88233374 TEL: 86-10-88233093