Wang Yifang wins 2019 Future Science Prize


China's Future Science Prize, one of the country's most prestigious non-governmental science awards, announced on Saturday that Prof. Wang Yifang and Prof. Kam-Biu Luk were co-awarded the prize in physical sciences as they discovered a third pattern of neutrino oscillations in experiment, opening the way for new physics beyond the Standard Model, in particular to understanding the asymmetry between matter and antimatter in the universe.

In 2012, the Daya Bay Reactor Neutrino Experiment discovered a new type of neutrino oscillation by precisely measuring theta one-three expressed as sin22θ13, paving the way for future understanding of matter-antimatter asymmetry in the universe. This significant achievement got strong responses from the international field of physics and was commented as a milestone in the research of neutrino physics.

The Future Science Prize, established on January 17, 2016, is the first non-governmental science award on the Chinese mainland jointly sponsored by scientists and entrepreneurs. It sets three award categories, namely, life science, physical science, and mathematics and computer science. This year, Prof. Shao Feng and Prof. Wang Xiaoyun were awarded the future science prize on life science and mathematics and computer science.

Contact Information

Mr. Guo Lijun

International Office, IHEP