Wang Yifang Awarded Bruno Pontecorvo Prize


Prof. Wang Yifang from the Institute of High Energy Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences was awarded the Bruno Pontecorvo Prize at the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (JINR) in Dubna, Russia on September 19, 2017. At the awarding ceremony, Prof. V.A. Matveev, JINR director conferred the certificate to the awardees.

This prize went to Prof. Wang Yifang in China, Prof. Kim Soo-Bong from Seoul National University in South Korea, and Prof. Koichiro Nishikawa from High Energy Accelerator Research Orgnization(KEK) in Japan, for their outstanding contributions to the study of the neutrino oscillation phenomenon and to the measurement of the theta13 mixing angle in the Daya Bay, RENO and T2K experiments.

Prof. Wang is the first Chinese scientist winning this prize. This is the fourth international prize he ever won, including the W. K. H. Panofsky Prize in Experimental Particle Physics in 2014, the Nikkei Asia Prize in 2015 and the Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics in 2016.

The Bruno Pontecorvo Prize is awarded by the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (JINR) in Dubna, Russia. The prize was established in 1995 to commemorate Prof. Bruno Pontecorvo, the “father of neutrino physics”.


Contact Information

Mr.Guo Lijun

International Office