WANG Yifang   Director 

Email: yfwang@ihep.ac.cn   


He obtained his B.Sc. degree at Nanjing University in 1984 and his Ph.D. degree at the University of Florence in 1991. He subsequently worked at MIT and Stanford University before returning to China in 2001.

He is an author on more than 250 scientific papers on neutrino physics, e+ e- collision physics, cosmic rays and astrophysics, detector design and construction, and methods for data analysis, covering his work on the L3, AMS, Palo Verde, KamLAND and BES experiments. He led the design and construction of the BESIII detector at the Beijing Electron-Positron Collider, and the Daya Bay Reactor Neutrino Experiment, which precisely measured the neutrino mixing angle theta13. He proposed the idea of the Circular Electron-Positron Collider (CEPC) followed by a proton collider (SPPC) as a possible future step for particle physics. 

He has been awarded the W. K. H. Panofsky Prize in 2013, the 20th Nikkei Asia Prize in 2015, the Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics in 2016 , the Bruno Pontecorvo Prize in 2016 and the Future Science Prize in 2019.